BDC elections: DEO DODA chairs meeting of ROs, AROs,Nodal officer’s,Zonal and Sectoral Magistrates

Publish Date : 07/11/2019

DODA, October 01: Upon announcement of single phase election to Block Development Councils, District Election Officer Doda, Dr Sagar D Doifode today chaired a meeting of designated Returning Officers, Assistant Returning Officers,Nodal officer’s,Zonal, Sectoral Magistrates and other election officials here to elucidate the process for elections. 

The DEO appraised that election in 17 blocks of district Doda shall be held on Oct. 24 using ballot boxes. He also informed that counting of votes shall be held on the same day.

He stressed upon the designated Returning Officers and Assistant Returning Officers to start the exercise   for ensuring fair and transparent BDC elections. He directed for immediately setting up of RO  offices at respective Block head quarter for receiving nomination from 11 am to 3 pm as the last date for filling nomination is October 9.Scrutiny of papers and withdrawal  of candidature will be done on 10th and 11th of October.

Further DEO Doda directed all the designated Nodal officer’s to work in coordination with each other for the smooth conduct of the ensuing election,besides directed were passed to the designated Zonal and Sectoral Magistrates to keep strict vigilance in all their jurisdictions to avoid any kind of irrelevant activity which will be against the  set standards and procedures for the smooth conduct of the BDC election’s.

He said that with the announcement of BDC elections, the provisions of Model Code of Conduct come into force with immediate effect, adding all the provisions of MCC will apply to all the Panchayat Halqas (Rural Areas) and will be applicable to all the candidates, political parties and the State and Central Governments.

The meeting was attended by Additional District Development Commissioner Imam Din, Assistant Commissioner Development Akhter Qazi, Dy. District Election Officer Pardeep Kumar, District Panchayat Officer Idrees lone  besides designated ROs, AROs,Nodal officer’s Zonal  and Sectoral Magistrates.